Word from the Trenches

My lack of posting in the past several weeks speaks to the intensive schedule that is Internal Medicine at a charity hospital. I just completed two weeks without any days off. On a team consisting of one resident, two interns, and three students, we had on average 18-24 patients at any given time (while other teams ranged from 4-12 patients). I’ve seen an incredible amount of medicine during these past five weeks and a wide spectrum of the troubles facing a broken hospital: I’ve served in the roles of student “doctor,” nurse, and social worker, all at once. The experience has been a trial by fire, and I hope that I have managed to survive it and improve along the way. If nothing else, I now know just how bad conditions can be in a hospital (with respect to the inefficiency, the patient load strain, and the lack of good ancillary support).

Leave a Reply

