Medicine Clerkship: Most Useful iPhone Apps

Since my last post on the usefulness of the medical iPod Touch, a large number of new applications for the platform have emerged that have facilitated both my learning and my effectiveness as a physician-in-training. In particular, I’ve found great usefulness in:

Instant ECG by iAnesthesia – This app provides a instruction on ECG electrophysiology, examples and explanations of common pathologic rhythms, and quizzes and diagrams to assist with the learning process. It is very useful for a medical student; whether it is useful at a later stage of training is unclear to me, but I’m just getting started. The pathologic rhythms are accompanied by movie clips that show the rhythms in real time as if on a monitor: for some reason, this helps me remember the rhythms better as my eyes follow their progression. Additionally, the company that makes the app recently added in high-resolution (zoom-able) images of example print ECGs on the classic pink paper with brief case descriptions (e.g. patient demographics and presenting symptoms/condition).

Mediquations – Not a new app, and I have written about it before. However, I’m constantly impressed that the creator updates the app frequently with new equations and provides explanations and source information.

Lose It! – Not a medical app, per se, but I find this diet tracking app fascinating. In addition to facilitating calorie counting, it also helps track nutrition proportions in an effort to help people reach that “ideal” 30-30-40 ratio (30% fat, 30% proteins, 40% carbs). Sadly, my proportions are way off, which makes gives me pause to reflect now when I advise my patients to change their diets (low sodium diets, heart healthy diets, diabetic diets, etc.).

Epocrates Rx – The free Epocrates app now has a few new features, and it appears that it contains the shell of the full package that you can activate with a paid subscription. The free app now has a “MedMath” section that contains a variety of useful equations, similar to those found in Mediquations and other iPhone apps. Additionally, a dose calculator now appears in the dosing section for certain medications requiring adjustments for weight, renal function, etc.

1 comment
  1. Modality said:

    Hello!

    Thanks for the mention of our Netter’s series. We have 23 different native medical apps in the App Store now. One product that’s particularly useful for health care professionals at any career-state is the Pocket Medical with Audio series. We offer French or Spanish versions. Let me know if you’d like to try it out.

    Thanks again for contributing such helpful perspective.

Leave a Reply

